AADR NSRG DENTSPLY/Caulk Competition

DENTSPLY/Caulk Student Research Group (SRG) Award Competition

The 27th annual DENTSPLY/Caulk Student Research Group (SRG) Award Competition for original research, sponsored by DENTSPLY/Caulk, will be held during the AADR/CADR Annual Meeting & Exhibition in Charlotte, N.C., March 19-22, 2014. The Competition was created to encourage students living in the United States to conduct original research and to be reviewed by their peers.

The 2014 awards will consist of the following:
(2) $750 first place winners (basic and clinical science)
(2) $500 second place winners (basic and clinical science)
(2) $250 third place winners (basic and clinical science) 

Each award recipient will receive a certificate and ribbon during the meeting, and a check and an award plaque will be sent after the meeting.

Undergraduate dental students of good academic standing, without an advanced degree or doctorate in any field, who have authored or co-authored no more than two publications (excluding abstracts) in refereed journals.
Must be a student member of AADR at time of submission & entry into competition.
Must have an abstract accepted for the 2014 AADR/CADR Annual Meeting & Exhibition in Charlotte, N.C., in poster format.
May not be entered simultaneously in the IADR or AADR Hatton Awards Competition.
May not be a current AADR NSRG officer or officer-elect at the time of entry into the competition (past officers are eligible to compete after their term is finished).
Abstract must be presented by a student member of AADR during the meeting to be eligible for the competition. If the presenter changes to a non-student member of AADR or student non-member, the abstract is no longer eligible for the competition.

Application Procedures
You must submit an abstract to the Global Headquarters for the 2014 Annual Meeting & Exhibition by the October 2013 deadline, adhering to the usual submission procedures. In the awards section of the online abstract submission process select "AADR DENTSPLY/Caulk Competition." You will be prompted to answer eligibility requirement questions. The system will then inform you if you are eligible to participate and place your name in the competition.

The Competition
All eligible abstracts will be reviewed by the SRG Award Committee. Seven (7) finalists will be selected in two categories (basic and clinical science) and notified in writing. During the 2014 Annual Meeting & Exhibition, the fourteen (14) finalists will present their posters to the judging committee (comprised of NSRG officers) during a closed-door session, taking place on the Thursday morning of the meeting. First-, second- and third-prize winners will be selected and presented with a check and a plaque after the AADR/CADR Annual Meeting & Exhibition.

The finalists will also present their posters during the general poster session at the 2014 Annual Meeting & Exhibition, during the Saturday afternoon poster session. All posters must be presented by AADR student members.

For further details, contact:
Marissa Naspinski
Email: mnaspinski@aadronline.org

2013 DENTSPLY/Caulk Competition Winners

Basic Science

First place - Maria Kuzynski, University of Alabama at Birmingham
Trps1 is Required for Mineralization of Odontoblastic Cells in vitro

Second place - Hani Ahdab, Indiana University
Oxidative Burst of Neutrophils Induced by Doxycycline-Containing Delivery Systems

Third place - Austin Starr, Indiana University
Metronidazole-Containing Delivery Systems-Effect on the Oxidative Burst of Human Neutrophils

Clinical Science

First Place - Justin Kolasa, University of Kentucky
Oral Health Status and Biomarkers of Myocardial Infarction

Second Place - Devon Cooper, University of Alabama at Birmingham
Antibody Activity Against Cariogenic Bacteria in Parotid and Whole Saliva

Third Place - Denise Gates, Oregon Health and Science University
Early Identification of Carious Lesions, Comparing DIAGNOdent and Caries ID



In this section

Annual Report

Learn More »