History of the NSRG

History of the NSRG 

The National Student Research Group (NSRG), a Group of the AADR, had its origins in 1980. The President of the AADR at that time, Dr. Irwin D. Mandel, is generally considered the “father” of the NSRG. Recognizing the potential of dental students as future research investigators, the AADR Membership Committee, under the chairmanship of Dr. Ralph Kaslick, targeted students for membership in the AADR. In addition, the Committee identified faculty advisors at each US dental school and set up programs for students, including the AADR Student Research Fellowship Program.

Starting in 1980, with only a handful of students meeting at the AADR General Session, the NSRG has continued to grow throughout the decade to about 1200 members at present. From 1980 through 1984, the National Student Research Group was a rather small, loosely run organization involving a small core of students who organized yearly meetings and a slightly larger group who attended the meetings. However, beginning with the 1985 annual meeting, several changes in the NSRG were initiated. In 1986, a Constitution and Bylaws were approved, and in the following year a mail ballot voting procedure was developed, both for amendment of the constitution and for election of officers.

Karl Zimmerman of Louisiana State University (NSRG President for 1985-86) instituted the annual Caulk/Dentsply Student Research Awards. This competition has continued to grow through the years and now includes six awards worth a total of $2500.

Since 1985, membership in the SRG has grown markedly. The number of SRG Chapters and the activity of existing Chapters have continued to increase. In 1988, geographic SRG regions were established to promote student research activity through regional interaction.

The NSRG is now recognized as one of the strongest groups in the AADR. The student members now have a voice in the AADR because, as of 2007, the NSRG President serves on the AADR Board of Directors as a full voting member.


The NSRG celebrated their 30th anniversary and recognized the past three decades of student research and achievements during the 2012 AADR/CADR Annual Meeting & Exhibition in Tampa, Florida.

NSRG Past Presidents





Phil Marucha