IADR David B. Scott Fellowship

Scandinavian Division 2016

Deadline: October 13, 2015

The David B. Scott Fellowship is awarded annually to a dental student in one IADR Division and will rotate alphabetically among the Divisions. It will be the Division’s responsibility to select the recipient by any method it devises, but the Division must present the candidate’s name and the proposal for his or her research experience to the IADR Preformance Monitoring/Audit Committee (PMAC) for approval. The annual recipient of the fellowship will be announced at the Closing Ceremonies of each IADR General Session & Exhibition.


  • The student must be training to be a dentist,
  • Student must be registered in an accredited or acceptable dental school,
  • Student must be sponsored by a dental researcher, with the approval of the dean, at that school,
  • Candidates may not have received their dental degree nor should they be due to receive their degree in the year of the award, and
  • Candidates may have a college or advanced degree in a discipline other than industry. 
  • Candidates MUST be IADR members.

Research Experience Proposal: 

  • The IADR prefers that Fellowship funds be used to support the dental student’s completion of a research project.
  • The dental student may conduct this project during periods between school terms or during free time within the school term.
  • In general, the project should have a one-year completion target, but this time frame is a suggestion only.
  • It is the IADR’s intent that the project will result in a paper, which can be presented at an IADR General Session or at a Divisional meeting.
  • The Division is also encouraged to suggest any alternate proposal, which may be more relevant to the needs of dental students in the Division, but any proposal must provide an experience in dental research.

The following is provided as an illustration of how a research project could be submitted for consideration:

The student and his or her sponsor must submit a proposal to the division for a research project that is no longer than 8 pages – including references – double-spaced. Mexican Division officers can be found here. The proposal should include the following:

1. Aims, objectives, and significance of the proposal

2. Rationale and background to the study

3. Materials and methods

4. Statistical treatment of data

5. Facilities and equipment

6. Budget

The proposal will be reviewed for acceptance.


The Scandinavian Division Officers will select the fellowship recipient and will then send the candidate’s name to the IADR Global Headquarters by October 13, 2015, for approval. Applicants will be notified thereafter. The Award will be announced at the IADR General Session & Exhibition.


The IADR expects to award the David B. Scott Fellowship in the amount of US$2,500. The Division shall propose how the award funds shall be used and criteria for selecting candidates, and this should be stated in the proposal.

One suggested distribution of funds is:

  • US$1,600 for the student’s stipend to allow him or her free time necessary to complete the research project,
  • US$300 for laboratory supplies, and
  • US$600 to provide travel to an IADR meeting or a Divisional meeting.

The Division will instruct the IADR Global Headquarters how to send the funds–to an officer of the Division, to the recipient’s faculty sponsor, or to the recipient’s institution–for appropriate disbursal and to ensure proper use of the monies. The Division will provide the IADR Global Headquarters with a detailed account of how funds are expended. All funds shall be used for research and shall not be used to cover administrative costs. The Division may make multiple Fellowship awards if the funding described above is sufficient.

Contact: Sheri S. Herren, Strategic Programs Manager – [email protected].

2015 Recipient

Jessica Lana-Ojeda

Universidad Autonoma de Yucatan, Mexico

2014 Recipient

Sungkyoon Kang

Wonkwang University, South Korea

2013 Recipient

Shinnichi Sakamoto

Hiroshima University, Japan

2012 Recipient

Sharon Shany-Kdoshim

The Hebrew University, Jerusalem, Israel

2011 Recipient

Kate Horgan

Cork University & Dental School, Ireland

(Supported by 3M ESPE)

2010 Recipient

Simiyu Benjamin

University of Nairobi

(Supported by 3M ESPE)

2009 Recipient

Andreas Niklas


2007 Recipient

Amer Hussain

University of Alberta, Canada

2006 Recipient

Janet Kan

England, UK

2005 Recipient

Marina Bello-Silva

University of Sao Paulo, Brazil

2004 Recipient

Amrita Ranchod

University of Otago, New Zealand