IADR E.W. Borrow Memorial Award

Supported by The Borrow Foundation

Deadline: October 13, 2015


Nominations are invited for the 2016 IADR E.W. Borrow Memorial Award, which was established to recognize and stimulate research in oral health promotion for children, with a priority for caries prevention where fluoride in different formats is utilized.


Selection will be based on the originality of contributions and record of achievement in the field of oral health promotion and on the significance of research carried out on the oral health of children. Basic research, applied clinical research, and clinical investigation will be considered for the award as well. At the time of nomination, the nominee should be actively engaged in the area of research for which the award is presented.  Candidates MUST be IADR members.

Nominating Procedures:

Any IADR Division, Section, Group, or individual IADR member may nominate a candidate for this award. Once a nomination is made, it will be considered each year for five years.


The following documentation must accompany the nomination:

  • Name, address, and date of birth of the candidate;
  • Full curriculum vitae with lists of publications; and
  • A short statement describing the reasons the individual is being nominated for the award.


The award commenced in 1992 and is awarded annually. Nominations are reviewed by a BMF/IADR Committee. The individual selected will receive a monetary award of $3,500 and a plaque, which will be presented at the Opening Ceremonies of the IADR General Session & Exhibition in Seoul, Republic of Korea, June 22-25, 2016.


The award is made in memory of the late E.W. Borrow and is generously supported by The Borrow Foundation.

Nomination Deadlines:

Please submit nominations online at the link above by October 13, 2015.

Further information can be obtained from Sheri S. Herren, Strategic Programs – [email protected].

2015 Recipient

Eino Honkala

Kuwait University, Kuwait City

2014 Recipient

Anne Maguire

Newcastle University, Newcastle Upon Tyne, UK

2013 Recipient

Anthony Blinkhorn

The University of Sydney, Westmead, Australia

2012 Recipient

A. John Spencer

The University of Adelaide, Australia

2011 Recipient

Svante Twetman

University of Copenhagen, Denmark

2010 Recipient

James S. Wefel

University of Iowa, USA

2009 Recipient

Lars Petersson

Maxillofacial Unit, Halmstad Hospital, Sweden

2008 Recipient

Michael Lennon

England, UK

2007 Recipient

Alberto Villa

Institute of Nutrition & Technology, Chile

2006 Recipient

Poul Erik Petersen

World Health Organization, Denmark