IADR Lion Dental Research Award

Supported by Lion Corporation

DeadlineJanuary 19, 2016


Nominating Procedure


Past Recipients

The Lion Dental Research Award is intended to support improvements in oral health sciences through the stimulation of junior researchers by

  • recognition of outstanding and innovative research in basic dental science for the improvement of public dental health; and
  • recognition of applied research achievements for improvement and development of oral care products for the prevention or oral diseases.

The IADR is inviting applications from young investigators for an award from submitted abstracts. These Awards are made possible by a generous donation from the Lion Corporation, Tokyo, Japan.


The candidates must:

  • hold a degree in dentistry or in a scientific discipline; and
  • be a junior researcher in pursuit of a postgraduate degree; and
  • be a member of IADR (in good standing at time of submission and presentation) and actively engaged in research within one of the following IADR scientific groups
  • have an abstract accepted for presentation within one of the three scientific groups listed below for the 93rd General Session & Exhibition of the IADR:

    a. Oral Health Research;

    b. Periodontal Research; or

    c. Salivary Research.


  1. A junior investigator may be nominated by his/her supervisor, program director, dean or other individual who is familiar with the nominee’s research activities.
  2. The nominee must have submitted an abstract for the IADR General Session & Exhibition by the abstract deadline date of January 19, 2016.
  3. Applications must include the following data:
  • Nominee’s name, address, date of birth, current place of work/study, position;
  • IADR Section/Division membership (in good standing at time of submission and presentation)
  • Curriculum vitae
  • Relevant recommendation letter
  • Copy of the abstract together with a separate and more detailed overview of the nominee’s project (2 pages, double-spaced).


Three (3) awards will be granted – one from each IADR Scientific Group. A committee set up by the IADR group reviews nominations. Recipients are notified after Committee Review which begins after the abstract deadline.  Award recipients will receive a monetary award of $2,000 and a plaque. The three awards will be presented at the IADR Group Business Meetings at the IADR General Session.  If selected for an award, the paper must be presented at the meeting (no presenter substitutions allowed).


Sheri S. Herren – Strategic Programs Manager [email protected]



2015 Recipients

Richa Wahi

Boston University, Massachusetts, USA

Falk Schwendicke

Charité – Universitätsmedizin Berlin, Germany

Omer Fleissig

The Hebrew University, Jerusalem, Israel


2014 Recipients

Oral Health Research

Donwiwat Saensom

Khon Kaen University, Thailand

Salivary Research

Omer Deutsch

The Hebrew University, Jerusalem, Israel


2013 Recipients

Behavioral, Epidemiologic, and Health Services Research

Stefan Listl

University of Heidelberg, Germany

Cariology Research

Melissa Thiemi Kato

University of São Paulo, Bauru, SP, Brazil

Microbiology/Immunology Research

Svetislav Zaric

University of Aberdeen, Scotland, UK


2012 Recipients

Oral Health Research

Shantanu Lal

Columbia University, New York, NY, US

Periodontal Research

Daniel Jönsson

Malmö University, Sweden

Salivary Research

Yoav Neumann

The Hebrew University, Jerusalem, Israel


2011 Recipients

Behavioral, Epidemiologic and Health Services Research

Otto Lok Lam

The University of Hong Kong, SAR, China

Cariology Research

Fu Chen

University of Nebraska Medical Center, Omaha, USA


2010 Recipients

Oral Health Research

Diep Ha

The University of Adelaide, Australia

Salivary Research

Ralica Stiubea-Cohen

The Hebrew University, Jerusalem, Israel

Periodontal Research

TDK Herath

The University of Hong Kong


2009 Recipients

Sebastian Paris

University of Kiel, Germany

Ranawaka Arachchige Prasad Perera

Hong Kong


2008 Recipients

Julio Carrion

Stony Brook University, Stony Brook, USA

Emanuele Cotroneo

King`s College London, England

Omer Deutsch

Hebrew University, Israel

Adeyemi Olalekan

University of The Witwatersrand, South Africa


2007 Recipients

Xiaoli Gao

University of Hong Kong

Daniel Moreinos

Hebrew University, Israel


2006 Recipients

Andrew Chan

University of Hong Kong


2005 Recipients

Loc Do

The University of Adelaide, Australia

Salunya Tancharoen

Kagoshima University, Japan


2004 Recipients

Ji Li


Ozgur Ozdemir

Goztepe Ihlamur Sokak, Turkey