IADR/AADR William J. Gies Award

Supported by J. Morita Corporation

Deadline: October 13, 2015

Call for Nominations:

The William J. Gies Award is given for the best paper published in the Journal of Dental Research during the preceding year. Nominations are made by individuals, by the Gies Award Committee, and by the Editor of the JDR. Most IADR/AADR awards are restricted to certain disciplines of research, but the JDR Gies Award is one of the few open to anyone who publishes in the Journal of Dental Research.

The Gies Award consists of a $1,000 monetary prize and a plaque which will be presented at either the Opening Ceremonies of the AADR/CADR Annual Meeting & Exhibition in Los Angeles, Calif., USA, March 16-19, 2016 or the Opening Ceremonies of the IADR General Session & Exhibition in Seoul, Republic of Korea, June 22-25, 2016.

IADR/AADR members are invited to send nominations for outstanding papers published in the JDR between July 2014 and June 2015.

Nominations should be sent to Mina Mina, Chair

William J. Gies Award Committee

Email: [email protected]


2015 Recipients

Biological Research

Maiko Suzuki, Masahi Shin, James P. Simmer and John D. Bartlett for the paper, “Fluoride Affects Enamel Protein Content via TGF-ßI-mediated KLK4 Inhibition,” J Dent Res 93:1022-1027.

Biomaterials & Bioengineering Research


Dean Ho, Eiji Osawa, Laura Moore, Maria Gatica and Joong Kim for the paper “Multi-protein Delivery by Nanodiamonds Promotes Bone Formation,” J Dent Res 92: 976-981.

Clinical Research

Moritz Kebschull, Paolo Guarnieri, Ryan T. Demmer, Paul Pavlidis, Anne-Laure Boulesteix and Panos P. Papapanou for the paper “Molecular Differences Between Chronic and Aggressive Periodontitis,” J Dent Res 92:1081-1088.

2014 Recipients

Biological Research

Richard P. Darveau, George Hajishengallis and Michael A. Curtis for the paper, “Porphyromonas gingivalis as a Potential Community Activist for Disease,” J Dent Res. 91: 816-820.

Biomaterials & Bioengineering Research


Y. Yoshida, K. Yoshihara, S. Hayakawa, N. Nagaoka, T. Okihara, T. Matsumoto, S. Minagi, A. Osaka, K. Van Landuyt, and B. Van Meerbeek for the paper “HEMA Inhibits Interfacial Nano-layering of the Functional Monomer MDP,”  J Dent Res, 91(11): 1060-1065. 

Clinical Research

M.L. Laine, V. Moustakis, L. Koumakis, G. Potamias, and B.G. Loos for the paper “Modeling Susceptibility to Periodontitis,” J Dent Res, 92(01): 45-50.

2013 Recipients

Biological Research

J.R. Shaffer, X. Wang, E. Feingold, M. Lee, F. Begum, D.E. Weeks, K.T. Cuenco, M.M. Barmada, S.K. Wendell, D.R. Crosslin, C.C. Laurie, K.F. Doheny, E.W. Pugh, Q. Zhang, B. Feenstra, F. Geller, H.A. Boyd, H. Zhang, M. Melbye, J.C. Murray, R. J. Weyant, R. Crout, D.W. McNeil, S.M. Levy, M.C. Willing, B. Broffitt, A.R. Vieira, and M.L. Marazita* for the paper “Genome-wide Association Scan for Childhood Caries Implicates Novel Genes,” J Dent Res 90: 1457-1462.

Biomaterials & Bioengineering Research


L. Cheng, K. Zhang, M.A.S Melo, M.D. Weir, X. Zhou, and H.H.K. Xu, for the paper “Anti-biofilm Dentin Primer with Quaternary Ammonium and Silver Nanoparticles,” J Dent Res 91: 598-604.

Clinical Research


C.F. Poh, Y. Zhu, E. Chen, K.W. Berean, L. Wu, L. Zhang, and M.P. Rosin for the paper “Unique FISH Patterns Associated with Cancer Progression of Oral Dysplasia,” J Dent Res 91: 52-57.

2012 Recipients:

Biological Research:

N.Tamaoki, H. Aoki, T. Takeda-Kawauchi, K. Lida, T. Shibata, T. Kunisada, K. Tezuka, K. Takahasi, T. Tanaka, T. Ichisaka, S.Yamanaka for the paper “Dental Pulp Cells for Induced Pluripotent Stem Cell Banking,” J Dent Res. 90:35-40.

Biomaterials and Bioengineering Research:

Li-sha Gu, Young Kyung Kim, Yan Liu, Heonjune Ryou, Courtney E. Wimmer, Lin Dai, Dwayne D. Arola, Stephen W. Looney, David H. Pashley, and Franklin R. Tay for the paper, “Biomimetic Analogs for Collagen Biomineralization,” J Dent Res. 90: 82-7.

Clinical Research:

Shunya Yamanaka for co-authors, Masahiro Kitamura, Motoki Akamatsu, Miho Machigashira, Yoshitaka Hara, Ryuji Sakagami, Takao Hirofuji, Takafumi Hamachi, Katsumasa Maeda, Makoto Yokota, Jun-ichi Kido, Toshihiko Nagata, Hidemi Kurihara, Shogo Takashiba, Toshiaki Shibutani, Mitsuo Fukuda, Toshihide Noguchi, Kazuhisa Yamazaki, Hiromasa Yoshie, Kazuo Ioroi, Takashi Arai, Taneaki Nakagawa, Koichi Ito, Shigeru Oda, Yuichi Izumi, Yorimasa Ogata, Satoru Yamada, Hidetoshi Shimauchi, Kazushi Kunimatsu, Masamitsu Kawanami, Takeo Fujii, Yasushi Furuichi, Toshi Furuuchi, Takashi Sasano, Enyu Imai, Masatoshi Omae, Satoru Yamada, and Mitsuru Watanuki, for the paper, “FGF-2 Stimulates Periodontal Regeneration Results of a Multi-center Randomized Clinical Trial,” J Dent Res. 90: 35-40.

2011 Recipients:

Biological Research:

Luciano Casagrande, Flavio Demarco, Zhaocheng Zhang, Fernando Araujo, Songtao Shi and Jacques Nör for the paper “Dentin-derived BMP-2 and Odontoblast Differentiation,” J Dent Res 89: 603-8

Biomaterials & Bioengineering Research:

Rui Chen, Mirei Chiba, Shiro Mori, Manabu Fukumoto and Tetsuya Kodama for the paper “Periodontal Gene Transfer by Ultrasound and Nano/microbubbles,” J Dent Res 88: 1008-13

Clinical Research:

Xiaoli Gao, Chin-Ying Stephen Hsu, Yunjie (Calvin) Xu, H. Brian Hwarng, Teresa Loh and David Koh for the paper “Building Caries Risk Assessment Models for Children,” J Dent Res 89: 637-43

2010 Recipients:

Biological Research:

M. Miyazawa, Z. Dong, Z. Zhang, K.G. Neiva, M.M. Cordeiro, D.T. Oliveira and J.E. Nör for the paper “Effect of PTK/ZK on the Angiogenic Switch in Head and Neck Tumors” J Dent Res 87: 1166-1171, December, 2008

Biomaterials & Bioengineering Research:

T. Ogawa,, L. Saruwatari, K. Takeuchi, H. Aita and N. Ohno for the paper “Ti Nano-nodular Structuring for Bone Integration and Regeneration” J Dent Res 87: 751-756, August, 2008

Clinical Research:

C.W. Bassim, R.S. Redman, D.J. DeNucci, K.L. Becker and E.S. Nylen for the paper “Salivary Procalcitonin and Periodontitis in Diabetes” J Dent Res 87: 630-634, July, 2008

2009 Recipients:

Hendrik Meyer-Lueckel

Christian-Albrechts-UniversitΣt Kiel, Germany

Anne Sanders

University of North Carolina – Chapel Hill, USA

Cun-Yu Wang

University of California – Los Angeles, USA

2008 Recipients:

Gregory Essick

University of North Carolina – Chapel Hill, USA

Carolyn Gibson

University of Pennsylvania – Philadelphia, USA

David Pashley

Medical College of Georgia, USA

2007 Recipients:

S. Bopp-Kuchler


Youssef Haikel

Universite Louis Pasteur, France

K. Horger


Bing Hu

University of Lausanne, Switzerland

L. Jimenez


Darnell Kaigler

University of Michigan, USA

Katy Krahn


Paul Krebsbach

University of Michigan, USA

Herve Lesot

University of Strasbourg, France

Andrew Lidral

University of Iowa – Iowa City, USA

Adriana Modesto Vieira

University of Pittsburgh, USA

David Mooney

Harvard University – Boston, USA

Lina    Moreno


Fernando Unda

Universidad Pais Vasco/Euskal, Spain

X.J. Wang


Shoou-Lih Wang

New Jersey Dental School – UMDNJ, USA

E.R. West


2006 Recipients:

Cun-Yu Wang

University of California – Los Angeles, USA

Shuo Chen

University of Texas at San Antonio, USA

Xiu-Ping Wang

Harvard School of Dental Medicine – Boston, USA

2005 Recipients:

Jian Feng

Baylor College of Dentistry – Dallas, USA