IADR BEHSR Student Abstract Award

IADR Behavioral, Epidemiologic and Health Services Research Outstanding Student Abstract Awards


This award recognizes excellence in behavioral sciences and health services research by a pre-doctoral and a post-doctoral student. One award will be given in each student category: pre-doctoral and post-doctoral.

Eligibility Criteria and Rules of Conduct:

Applicants may be IADR members or non-members, but, consistent with IADR conditions:

  1. Must present research findings in person at the upcoming IADR/AADR General Session.
  2. Must be present to receive the award at the BEHSR Business meeting of that year.
  3. In the event, the student 1st author cannot either present or receive the award but the abstract is presented by one of the co-authors in that year’s IADR/AADR General Session, the author is still eligible for the award and a co-author in the winning abstract MUST be present at the BEHSR Business Meeting to receive the award on the student’s behalf.

    In that case, it is the responsibility of the BEHSR student award candidate to inform the 2nd year BEHSR directors about this change in the presentation of the paper and the receipt of the award (from the student candidate to one of the co-authors of the submitted abstract).

  4. In the event an abstract selected for the BEHSR student award is withdrawn by the author, it is the responsibility of the BEHSR student award candidate to notify the BEHSR IADR 2nd year directors about the withdrawal at least 2 weeks in advance of that year’s IADR Conference.


Abstracts should be submitted to the BEHSR Group in response to the regular call for abstracts for the IADR General Session by the January 19, 2016 deadline

Review & Selection Process:

A subcommittee of the BEHSR Executive Committee will review abstracts with a student identified as the presenter on the abstract form. Abstracts will be judged based on scientific rigor, relevance, and potential impact.


A cash award of $200 and a certificate will be presented to each of the winners at the IADR BEHSR Business Meeting.


Supported by the BEHSR Group.


If there are any questions, please contact the Second Year Directors from the Officers list

2015 Recipients:

Pre-doctoral: Cameron Randall, West Virginia University, for his abstract entitled ‘Dental Fear and MC1R Genotype: Fear of Pain as Mediator’.

Post-doctoral: Jennifer Harmon, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill for her abstract entitled ‘Protective Effect of Circulating Omentin-1 Against Chronic Temporomandibular Disorder Pain’

2013 Recipients:

Pre-doctoral: Willingness-to-pay for Mandibular Two-implant Overdentures: A Societal Perspective

A. SRICASTAVA, S. ESFANDAIRI, and J. FEINE, Faculty of Dentistry, McGill University, Montreal, QC, Canada

Post-doctoral: Cognitive Decline and Oral Health Measures: The ARIC Study

S. NAORUNGROJ, Oral Epidemiology, Gillings School of Global Public Health and School of Dentistry, University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill, NC, G.D. SLADE, Dental Ecology, University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill, NC, J.D. BECK, School of Dentistry, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, Chapel Hill, NC, T.H. MOSLEY, Division of Geriatrics, University of Mississippi Medical Center, Jackson, MS, R.F. GOTTESMAN, Neurology, The Johns Hopkins Hospital, Baltimore, MD, A. ALONSO, Epidemiology and Community Health, University of Minnesota, Minneapolis, MN, and G. HEISS, Epidemiology, University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill, NC

2012 Recipients:

Pre-doctoral: Relation between Dental Fear and Fear of Pain: How Heritable?

C. RANDALL, J.R. SHAFFER, X. WANG, D.W. MCNEIL, R.J. CROUT, R.J. WEYANT, and M.L. MARAZITA, West Virginia University, and University of Pittsburgh, USA

Post-doctoral: Socioeconomic Determinants Affect the Failure of Restorations: A Multilevel Approach

M.B. CORREA, M.A. PERES, K. PERES, B.L. HORTA, A.J.D. BARROS, and F.F. DEMARCO, Federal University of Pelotas, Brazil

2011 Recipients

Pre-doctoral: Retreatment of Restorations: Comparison of Healthy Kids Dental and Medicaid

P. NGUYEN, L. LIANG, and W. SOHN, University of Michigan, Ann Arbor, MI


Early Childhood Oral Health Impacts and Caregivers’ Oral Health literacy

K. DIVARIS, J.Y. LEE, D.A. BAKER, and W.F. VANN, Dept. of Pediatric Dentistry, University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill, NC

2010 Recipient: