IADR Bernard Sarnat Award and IADR Craniofacial Biology Group Award

Applications are requested from students (dental and graduate), residents in certificate programs, and post-doctoral fellows for the following 2016 awards:

Bernard G. Sarnat Award in Craniofacial Biology

  • Senior Category (preferably PhD students and post-doctoral fellows)
  • US $500 cash award
  • This award is supported by interest from a $10,000 endowed donation by Dr. Bernard G. Sarnat to the Craniofacial Biology Group and by the membership of the Craniofacial Biology Group.

Craniofacial Biology Group Award

  • Junior Category (preferably MS and dental students, residents in certificate programs)
  • US $300 cash award
  • This award is supported by DENTAID and the membership of the Craniofacial Biology Group.

These awards recognize original and outstanding research on craniofacial growth and development. The awardees will each receive an engraved plaque and the specified monetary prize.

Each applicant must be the primary author and presenter of a poster accepted for presentation at the IADR General Session. The applicant must pre-register for the meeting as a student. It is not necessary to send additional documentation of student status.

Only poster abstracts will be considered and judged.

Research submitted for the 2016 General Session & Exhibition of the IADR, will be eligible for consideration for the Sarnat or Craniofacial Biology Group Awards, provided it has not been published. When submitting the abstract, it must be assigned to the Craniofacial Biology Group and entered as either a Sarnat or a Craniofacial Biology Group Award candidate. IADR deadline dates and procedures should be followed. No additional materials are necessary, only the abstract submitted to the IADR General Session will be considered. The abstracts will be pre-screened and not more than 10 abstracts will be chosen for the Sarnat and Craniofacial Biology Group poster session finalists.

Additional information about the Sarnat and Craniofacial Biology Group Competition can be obtained from:

Sylvia A. Frazier-Bowers DDS, PhD

Associate Professor

7450 Brauer Hall

Department of Orthodontics

Chapel Hill, NC 27599

[email protected]

Application Deadline: January 19, 2016

The abstracts will be judged for (1) originality and scientific design of the investigation, (2) suitability of the methods of analysis, and (3) scientific value of the work. Selected finalists will be judged at the 2016 General Session & Exhibition of the IADR, for (1) – (3) above and (4) quality of the poster, oral presentation and responses to questions. The poster presentations will be scheduled early in the meeting so that the winner can be announced at the Craniofacial Biology Group business meeting.

Note for booking travel arrangements: Finalists will be expected to be available for the judging session typically held Wednesday AM at the start of the IADR General Session, and to present their posters for general viewing later in the week during the session. The Craniofacial Biology Group’s business meeting is usually held on Thursday evening. Due to scheduling conflicts, applications cannot be made to either the Sarnat or Craniofacial Biology Group and IADR Unilever Hatton Award competitions.


2015 Recipients:

Sarnat Award 1st Place: Naomi Yamamoto, Tokyo Medical and Dental University – Multiplied Tooth Regeneration by Transplantation of a Cleaved Tooth Germ

Sarnat Award Honorable Mention: Shaun Abrams, University of California San Francisco – Molecular Etiology of Craniofacial Dysmorphology in Transition Zone Cilia Mutants

CBG Award 1st Place: Taylor Capasso, University of Florida College of Dentistry – Enoxacin and Bis-enoxacin Stimulate GW Body Formation and Alter Regulatory Exosomes Produced by Murine Breast Cancer Cells

CBG Award Honorable Mention: Yolanda Ho, University of California San Francisco – Aberrant FgfR2 Signaling Implicated in Midfacial Hypoplasia in Mice.

2014 Recipients:
Sarnat Award: Maryam Khatibi Shahidi – Karolinska Institutet, Stockholm, Sweden – “Peripheral Nerve Glia Contributes Mesenchymal Stem Cells During Tooth Development”
Honorable Mention: Husein Alomer – University of British Columbia, Vancouver, BC, Canada – “Palatal Epithelial Seam Fate With Over-Expression Of Smad2”
Craniofacial Biology Group Award: Joint winners: Karim M. Fawzy – Universitätsklinikum Schleswig Holstein, Klinik für Zahnerhaltung und Parodontologie, Kiel, Germany – “Validity of STRO-1+/MACS-Technique for the Isolation G-MSCs.”               
Kelsey M. Riffel – 1University of Missouri – Kansas City, Kansas City, MO – “Gender Differences in Jaw Muscle Duty Factors During Leg-extension Exercises” 

2013 Recipients:

Sarnat Award: Carolina Parada Borja – Center for Craniofacial Molecular Biology, University of Southern California – “Crucial role for ERK2 signaling in palate development”

Craniofacial Biology Group Award: Marisol King – University of Colorado – “Endothelin-Converting Enzyme-1 (Ece1) Function in Zebrafish Craniofacial Development.”

2012 Recipients:

1st Place: Eliane H. Dutra – University of Connecticut Health Center  – “A Phe377del Mutation in ANK Leads to Abnormal Tooth Development”

2nd Place: Ahmad Almehmadi – Boston University, Boston, Mass. – “The Effect of Vwc2 Protein on Calvarial Bone Formation”

2011 Recipients:

1st Place: Marcelo Freire – University of Southern California – “Bioengineering Bone by Monoclonal Antibodies”

2nd Place: Erin Ealba – University of California, San Francisco – “Mesenchymal Regulation of Jaw Length”

2010 Recipients:

First Place: Ibrahim Al Shahrani – University of Newcastle-Upon-Tyne

Second Place: Fan Xue – University of Hong Kong