IADR/Philips Oral Healthcare Young Investigator Research Grant

Supported by Philips Oral Healthcare (POHC)

Deadline: April 15, 2016


This is the tenth year of this research grant, which is generously sponsored by Philips Oral Healthcare and offered through the IADR Periodontal Research Group. The objective is to provide seed funding for a post-doctoral student/staff who is within 12-months of successfully completing a Ph.D. at the time of the submission deadline, and wishes to establish an independent program of research. The research grant will be awarded on a competitive basis annually.

The 2007 winner Dr. Fa-ming Chen from Fourth Military Medical University Xi’an P.R. China has benefited hugely from his award which resulted in 2 papers in J Clinical Periodontology and been promoted. The 2008 winner Dr Moritz Kebschull from Columbia University New York has already written publications from his studies and has returned to is native Germany where he has established his own research team. In 2009 Dr Nagihan Bostanci, now of Zurich University, has also published in J Clinical Periodontology, has established her own research team and is collaborating globally. In 2010 the winner was Dr Mandeep Ghuman of Kings College London, and in 2011 Dr Katrine Jaedicke from the University of Newcastle was the award winner for her project on “Investigation of adiponectin isoforms in saliva as potential biomarkers in periodontal disease”. The 2012 winner was Dr Patricia Miguez from the University of Pennsylvania for a project entitled “Effect of natural products on bone regeneration” and in 2013 Dr Mervi Gürsoy from the University of Turku in Finland, was successful in her proposed project “Salivary C-DI-GMP levels in relation to immune responses and periodontal infection”. In 2014 Dr Paola dePablo from the University of Birmingham UK was successful with her application “Characterisation of subgingival microbiome in patients with Rheumatoid Arthritis” and in 2015 Dr. Vanessa Alves proposal on “Protease-activated receptor 2 (PAR2) signalling in periodontitis associated with type 2 diabetes” from Sao Paolo University was successful in obtaining support to undertake this exciting project at the Forsyth Institute in Boston, Mass., USA. 


Applicants must be full or student members of the IADR Periodontal Research Group (PRG) at the time of application.

Applications which involve visiting a laboratory/research centre in a different continent will be favoured, as we wish to encourage global collaborations.

The research proposal must have a clinical theme in line with POHC’s desire to support and promote clinical research. Studies that are purely laboratory-based and not involving human material/samples will not be considered.


1. A research abstract of no more than 300 words should be submitted to facilitate initial screening.

2. A 1-page (A4) CV and a 1-page (A4) personal statement are required.

3. A 2-page (A4) protocol (excluding references which may run to a 3rd page) is required.

4. The protocol must include the following:

a. A brief description of the background to the proposed research project with emphasis on its relevance and importance to periodontology.

b. Clear aims and objectives.

c. A clear description of the proposed methods, including any power estimates, if applicable.

d. Confirmation that ethical review board approval will be sought if relevant. The project may not commence unless these approvals are in place and in accordance with international standards.

e. Statistical methods.

f. Broad details of the proposed use of funding.

g. Methods of knowledge dissemination.

5. A letter of recommendation is needed from the applicant’s Department Head or Dean, who should be a member of the IADR PRG.

6. A letter of agreement/support from any proposed collaborating centre.

7. Confirmation of the applicant’s IADR membership number in a covering letter.


All awards will be presented during the annual business meeting of the PRG during the 94th General Session & Exhibition of the IADR in Seoul, Republic of Korea, June 22-25, 2016. The amount of the grant is US$10,000 towards consumables for a one-year research project and travel costs to a collaborating centre at economy class rates.  The grant is not intended to cover subsistence or living costs.


  • Applications should be submitted electronically to the PRG Past President for 2008 (Professor Iain L.C. Chapple, Birmingham Dental School, St. Chads, Whieensway, Birmingham B4 6NN – email: [email protected])
  • The judging panel will comprise the PRG President, Immediate Past-President, Secretary, and a senior representative of POHC. 
  • Applications that exceed the word limit (for abstracts) and page limit (for protocol and CV and references) will not be assessed.
  • The main judging criteria will be relevance/importance and scientific quality, but an upward moderation will apply for intercontinental collaborative applications.
  • No panel member should have a personal interest in the participating projects.
  • Successful applicants will be notified within a month of the IADR meeting.
  • The decision of the panel will be final and not open to appeal.
  • The winner will be the proposal with the highest total rank score of the four judges (1st = 4, 2nd =3, 3rd =2, 4th =1).
  • In the case of a tie, the applicant with the greatest number of first rank scores will be awarded the grant, OR preference will be given to a project that involves intercontinental collaboration.
  • If there remains a tie, the Panel’s Chair will make the final decision.
  • The PRG reserves the right to withhold an award.

Deadline: April 15, 2016

For further information concerning this award, please contact:

Iain L. C. Chapple

Professor of Periodontology

Past President of the IADR Periodont Research Group 2007-2008

Birmingham School of Dentistry

St Chads Queensway


B4 6NN


[email protected]

2015 Recipient

Vanessa Tubero Euzebio Alves, The Forsyth Institute, Cambridge, Massachusetts, USA

2014 Recipient

Paola de Pablo, The University of Birmingham, UK.

2013 Recipient

Mervi Gursoy, University of Turku, Finland

2012 Recipient

Patricia Miguez, University of Pennsylvania, USA

2011 Recipient

Katrin Jaedicke, University of Newcastle Upon Tyne, UK

2010 Recipient

Mandeep Ghuman, King’s College, London, UK

2009 Recipient

Nagihan Bostanci, Zurich University, Switzerland

2008 Recipient

Moritz Kebschull, Columbia University, New York

2007 Recipient

Fa-ming Chen, Fourth Military Medical University, Xi’an P.R. China