AADR Distinguished Scientist Award

Supported by GlaxoSmithKline


Every two years the American Association for Dental Research recognizes a distinguished scientist who has contributed outstanding research of particular significance in any of the fields related to oral science.


Candidates must be or have been engaged in basic, applied clinical research related to dental science. Candidates MUST be AADR members.


Candidates must be nominated by an AADR Section, Group Chapter, or individual AADR member. The following documentation must accompany the nomination.

• Nominating letter setting forth the nominee’s contributions;

• Full curriculum vitae with list of publications; and

• Three letters of recommendation from colleagues at three separate institutions.

Review & Selection Process:

All materials will be submitted to the AADR Distinguished Scientist Award Committee Chair and reviewed by the committee.


The award consists of a $5,000 monetary prize, a plaque, and travel expenses (airfare, taxi, and hotel up to $1,500) to the Annual Meeting of the AADR, where the award is presented.

The AADR Distinguished Scientist Award is generously supported by GlaxoSmithKline.

Please submit nomination materials to:

Sheri S. Herren

Strategic Programs Manager

[email protected]

2016 Recipient

Robert J. Genco

Office of Science, Technology Transfer and Economic Outreach, University at Buffalo, SUNY, New York

2014 Recipient

Rafael ‘Ray’ Bowen

ADA Foundation, Dr. Anthony Volpe Research Center, NIST, Gaithersburg, Maryland, USA

2012 Recipient

Ronald Dubner

University of Maryland School of Dentistry, Baltimore, USA

2010 Recipient

John Greenspan

University of California, San Francisco, USA

2008 Recipient

Kenneth M. Yamada

National Institute of Dental and Craniofacial Research, USA


Sigmund Socransky

Forsyth Institute – Boston, USA


James Beck

University of North Carolina – Chapel Hill, USA