IADR/Straumann Award in Regenerative Periodontal Medicine

Deadline: December 31, 2015

This research award is sponsored by Straumann and offered through the IADR Periodontal Research Group (PRG). The objective is to recognize investigators who have made significant contributions in basic and/or clinical research in the field of regenerative periodontal medicine.


Applicants must have significant basic or clinical research accomplishments in the field of regenerative periodontal or periimplant medicine and be full members of the PRG at the time of application.


The award is presented at the annual business meeting of the PRG during the General Session & Exhibition of the IADR. It consists of a cash prize of $5,000 and a plaque.


Nominations are invited for eligible IADR PRG members (self-nominations are accepted.) Nomination packages should be submitted electronically by December 31, 2015 to:

Evie Lalla

Professor of Dental Medicine

Columbia University College of Dental Medicine

Email: [email protected]

Nominations must include the following information about the candidate in a single pdf file:

• Name and Contact Information

• Short NIH-style Curriculum Vitae

• Five (5) publications


The judging panel is comprised of the President, President-Elect, Secretary, and Immediate Past President of the PRG. Panel members review the nomination materials for each candidate and independently rank each nominee. The nominee with the highest total ranked score will be the award’s recipient. In the case of a tie, the applicant with the greatest number of first rank scores will be awarded the prize. If there remains a tie, the Panel’s Chair (PRG President) will make the final decision. The main judging criteria are relevance of a nominee’s work in the field of regenerative periodontal or periimplant medicine, the scientific quality of his/her peer-reviewed publications, and the overall impact his/her research work has made to the understanding of the dynamics and mechanisms of periodontal or periimplant regeneration. The decision of the panel is final and not open to appeal. The PRG reserves the right to withhold an award.

For further information concerning this award, please contact:

Evie Lalla

Email: [email protected]

2015 Recipient

Mariano Sanz, University Complutense Madrid, Spain

2014 Recipient

Mark Bartold, University of Adelaide, Australia

2013 Recipient 

Andreas Stavropoulos, Malmö, Sweden

2012 Recipient

Anton Sculean, University of Bern, Switzerland

2011 Recipient

Nikos Donos, Eastman Dental Institute, London, England, UK

2010 Recipients

Martha Somerman, University of Washington, Seattle, USA

Ulf Wikesjo, Medical College of Georgia, Augusta, USA