AADR Fellows Program

Deadline December 1, 2016. 

The AADR Fellows Program is designed to recognize leaders of AADR and individuals who have served AADR in various ways throughout their careers. Through this Program, AADR will strengthen its mission of supporting and representing the oral health research community, which supports the overall AADR mission.

The AADR Fellows Program is open to active AADR members.


Applicants who are accepted into the AADR Fellows Program will receive the following benefits upon induction:

  • Recognition at AADR Annual Meeting Opening Ceremonies.
  • Recognition in AADR Science Advocate, e-newsletter exclusive to AADR members.
  • An AADR Fellows Program lapel pin.
  • The opportunities to network with other Fellows at the Fellows lounge at the AADR Annual Meeting.

Expectations of the Fellows

Applicants who are accepted into the AADR Fellows Program should be active in many facets of AADR. Fellows may:

  • Take part in the election of new Fellows.
  • Serve as an ambassador of excellence in oral, craniofacial and dental research.
  • Advise the AADR Board and/or AADR Council on matters when requested.
  • Mentor other AADR members.


  • Applicants must be an AADR member and must remain an AADR member to retain Fellow status.
  • Must make outstanding contributions to AADR and oral, craniofacial and dental research.
  • Must make outstanding achievements in AADR.
  • Must submit two letters of nomination from IADR/AADR members stating why the applicant should be included in the AADR Fellows Program.
  • Meeting the required point total (see the Fellows Program Points System). The suggested total number of points required to meet Fellow status is 50.

Application Process

The letters of nomination in addition to the application are reviewed by the Fellows Review Committee and a limited number of Fellows are granted each year. Applicants are responsible for providing all data on years of service and contributions. Applicants that are not current members of the IADR/AADR will not be considered regardless of the number of points acquired in the past. Future year inductions will be voted on by a group of no fewer than 5 current Fellows.

Fellows Program Points System

Activity Points Per Year/activity Maximum Points
Membership 1 None
Abstract Submission (presenter) 1 25
Symposia, Hands-On Workshop, Lunch & Learning Presenter 1 25
Committee Service 1 10
Editorial Board Service 1 10
Elected/Appointed AADR Board of Directors 10 30
Group Program Chair 1 10
Annual Meeting/General Session Reviewer 1 10
Group/Network Officer 5 20
IADR or AADR Award & Fellowship Recipient 1 10
AADR Councilor 1 10
Donation to AADR or IADR 1 20
AADR Section Officer 5 25
Publish in the Journal of Dental Research 5 25
AADR Distinguished Scientist Award Recipient 5 5
IADR Distinguished Scientist Award Recipient 5 10

Note: Meeting the point total does not constitute Fellow status.

2016 Fellows:

Kathryn Atchison – University of California, Los Angeles

Stephen Bayne – University of Michigan

O. Ross Beirne – University of Washington

John P. Brown – University of Texas HSC at San Antonio

William Bowen – University of Rochester

Ananda Dasanayake – New York University

Matthew Doyle – Procter & Gamble

Rena D’Souza – University of Utah

Christopher Fox – American and International Associations for Dental Research

Lawrence Gettleman – University of Louisville

Kaumudi Joshipura – University of Puerto Rico

Mel Kantor – University of Wisconsin – Eau Claire Institute for Health Science

Linda Kaste – University of Illinois at Chicago

Keith Kirkwood – Medical University of South Carolina

Mary MacDougall – University of Alabama at Birmingham

Sally Marshall – University of California, San Francisco

Grayson Marshall – University of California, San Francisco

John Mitchell – Midwestern University, Arizona

John Powers – Dental Consultants, Inc.

Alexandre Vieira – University of Pittsburgh

Mary Walker – University of Missouri-Kansas City

Jane Weintraub – University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill

Timothy Wright – University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill

Pamela Yelick – Tufts University