IADR Sigmund S. Socransky Young Investigator Award

(Formerly the Anthony A. Rizzo Young Investigator Award)

Deadline: December 31, 2015

The Periodontal Research group of the IADR makes an annual award in recognition of Dr. Sigmund S. Socransky’s contributions to periodontal research. The award recognizes promising, young investigators in the field of periodontology who are in an early phase of their academic/research career.

Nominees must:

• Be members of the Periodontal Research Group under 40 years of age.

• Not hold a full professorship or chairmanship.

• Have contributed significantly to periodontal biological and/or clinical research.

Past winners (including Anthony Rizzo Award winners) are not eligible for the competition again, but unsuccessful candidates can be re-nominated. Nominations can be made by any member of the Periodontal Research Group. 

Nomination packages must be submitted by December 31 of each year and must include:

• A recommendation/ nomination letter which confirms the above listed eligibility criteria.

• The candidate’s Curriculum Vitae together with his/her 5 best publications.

Please submit nomination packages electronically (pdf files) to:

Panos N. Papapanou, DDS, PhD

Professor of Dental Medicine

Chair, Section of Oral and Diagnostic Sciences

Director, Division of Periodontics

Columbia University College of Dental Medicine

Email: [email protected]

Past Young Investigator Award Recipients

Sigmund S. Socransky Award

2015: Luigi Nibali, University College of London, UK
2014: Nagi Bostanci, University of Zurich, Switzerland
2013: Darnell Kaigler, University of Michigan, USA
Anthony A. Rizzo Award
2012: George Belibasakis, University of Zurich, Switzerland
2011: David Herrera, University Complutense Madrid, Spain
2010: Wim Teughels, University of Leuven, Belgium
2009: Francesco D’Aiuto, University College London, UK
2008: No award
2007: Philip Preshaw, Newcastle University, United Kingdom
2006: Andreas Stavropoulos, Aarhus University, Denmark
2005: Scott Kachlany, University of Medicine and Dentistry of New Jersey, USA
2004: Phoebus Madianos, National and Kapodistrian University of Athens, Greece; and Anton Sculean, Johannes Gutenberg University Mainz, Germany (Shared award)
2003: Evie Lalla, Columbia University, USA
2002: Will Giannobile, University of Michigan, USA
2001: Ian Chapple, University of Birmingham, United Kingdom
2000: No award
1999: Lior Shapira, Hadassah University, Israel
1998: Shinya Murakami, Osaka University, Japan
1997: Maurizio Tonetti, University of Bern, Switzerland
1996: Panos N. Papapanou, Göteborg University, Sweden