IADR Basil Bibby Young Investigator Award

Supported by Unilever


The Cariology Group of IADR has established the above Award for the purpose of promoting the interest of young scientists and students in dental caries research and related matters, and to acknowledge excellence of the research conducted by young investigators. The Award is in honor of the founding President of the Cariology Group, Dr. Basil G. Bibby.


Individuals who will not have reached their 40th birthday at the time of the meeting at which the Award is presented (June 22, 2016) should be eligible to apply for the Award. Applicants are required to be members of the Cariology Research Group, by the time of application and receipt of the prize.


That the Award should be given on the basis of general excellence in research related to cariology and/or dental erosion as demonstrated by reports written, presented or published.


Candidates may apply directly or be nominated by a member of the Cariology Group. Supporting documents should include

  1. Cirriculum Vitae (max 3 pages)
  2. Summary of specific scientific contributions (max 2 pages)
  3. List of the reports or publications
  4. Supporting statement from a colleague or member of the Cariology Group

All documents above should be grouped into one PDF file.


The President will convene a judging panel comprising the current Executive Committee of the Cariology Research Group. This panel will evaluate applications and make a decision whether or not an Award should be made. The Award will be given only if a suitable candidate applies or is nominated. In case of a tie in votes between two or more candidates the President will convene a second judging panel comprising former members of the Executive Committee of the Cariology Research Group and continue to do so until one candidate has the majority of votes. 

The Award will take the form of a plaque and a cash prize of US$2,500, provided to cover registration, travel and housing expenses for the winner to attend the General Session & Exhibition of the IADR.

Awardee Responsibilities:

To attend (1) the general IADR meeting in the year in which the Award is made and, (2) the Cariology Research Group annual business meeting where the awardee will be announced and receive the plaque. The Awardee will be encouraged to participate in the Group’s activities (e.g. serve as abstract reviewer) and become a member of the Executive Committee.

Nomination Deadline:

The deadline for receipt of applications coincides with the IADR abstract submission deadline of January 19, 2016 for the IADR General Session & Exhibition which will be held in Seoul, Republic of Korea, June 22-25, 2016.

Applications should be sent to:

Marcelle Nascimento

Associate Professor 

Department of Restorative Dental Sciences

Division of Operative Dentistry

College of Dentistry

University of Florida

Rm. D9-5, P.O. Box 100515

Gainesville, FL 32610

Phone: 352.273.5858

E-mail: [email protected]

Previous Winners:

2015 Annette Wiegand

2014 Livia Tenuta

2013 Ana Carolina Magalhaes

2012 Nathan Cochrane

2011 Sebastian Paris

2010 Hendrik Meyer-Lueckel

2009 Anderson T. Hara

2008 Marilia AR Buzalaf

2007 Michel (Hyun) Koo

2006 Iain Pretty

2005 Andrea Ferreira-Zandoná

2004 Johan Aps

2003 Egija Zaura

2002 Layla Abu-Naba’a

2001 Xie-Qi Shi

2000 Susan Al-Khateeb

1999 Margherita Fontana

1998 Manuel Bravo

1997 Anne Vacca Smith