IADR Geriatric Oral Research Awards

Supported by J. Morita Corporation

The J. Morita Award for Junior Investigators 

The J. Morita Award Poster Competition invites junior investigators to apply according to the following criteria:

The Jonathan Ship Award: for dental student candidates.

The J. Morita Pre-doctoral Award: for candidates with a clinical doctoral level degree, DDS, DMD, BDS, MD (or equivalent).

The J. Morita Post-doctoral Award: for those in pursuit of, or already have, a research doctorate, PhD, and may already have a DDS, BDS, MD, or DMD (or equivalent). Those individuals who are university faculty members must be instructors or assistant professors (or equivalent junior faculty rank) or in a post-doctoral position.

Eligibility, Selection, and Application for all Awards


• Applicants must have conducted their own original research in geriatric oral health, and they must submit their research findings as an abstract for poster presentation at the J. Morita Awards GORG session at the IADR meeting in the year of application.

• In submitting their abstract for the J. Morita Awards Poster Session, applicants must abide by the conditions specified by IADR, including the requirement to present the poster in person at the applicable meeting.

• For abstracts with multiple authors, the applicant need not necessarily be listed as the first author, but must be the presenting author.

• No person may receive two IADR awards at the same meeting.

• Applicants may be IADR members or non-members.

• Applicants are not eligible to win any Morita Award more than two times in a five-year period.


A judging panel appointed by the Awards Committee Chair will evaluate each applicant’s research based on information presented in the abstract submitted for the IADR meeting, an additional extended abstract describing the research in greater detail, and the presentation by the applicant at the meeting. Each award includes a monetary prize and a certificate. The award recipients will be announced at the GORG Annual Business Meeting held during the IADR General Session. All award candidates are strongly encouraged to attend the business meeting.

The panel will use the following criteria:

• Importance of the research question: Does the research address basic mechanisms of aging, occurrence of disease or disorders in the aged, and/or prevention and treatment of those diseases or disorders?

• Originality and scientific design of the investigation: Is the research new, and is the design of the research appropriate to address the research questions?

• Appropriateness of methods and analysis: Does the research use appropriate experimental methods and analytic techniques?

• Soundness of conclusions: Are there appropriate interpretations of the results, and do conclusions relate clearly to the research questions?


When completing the abstract form for the IADR General Session, applicants for the J. Morita Awards should 1) indicate their student status; 2) indicate their intent to compete for the J. Morita Geriatric Oral Research Awards – in poster format only; and, 3) request review by the Geriatric Oral Research Group as a potential candidate for the J. Morita Awards Competition. After abstract review for the competition, accepted applicants will subsequently be identified and contacted by the Chair of the Awards Committee after the closing date for submission of abstracts, January 19, 2016, inviting them to submit additional documents.

Additional information about the awards can be obtained from:

Dr. Xi Chen

Associate Professor

Department of Preventive and Community Dentistry

University of Iowa College of Dentistry

330 Dental Science Building N

Iowa City, IA 52242

Phone: 319.335.7188

Fax: 319.335.7187

Email: [email protected]


2015 Recipients:

The J. Morita Pre-doctoral Category First Prize:

Myrna Zakaria

Kyushu University, Fukuoka, Japan

Oral Mycobiome in Japanese Elderly Adults

The J. Morita Post-doctoral Category First Prize:

Martin Schimmel

University of Geneva, Geneva, Switzerland

Validation of a New Colourimetric Technique to Assess Chewing Efficiency

The Jonathan Ship Award:

Sarah Arafat

University of Texas Health Science Center at Houston School of Dentistry, Houston, Texas

Oral Health Care Needs Assessment in Patients with Movement Disorders

2014 Recipients:

The Jonathan Ship Award

Dental Student Category:  Q.A. Aminu

Oral health status of institutionalized and homebound elderly

The J. Morita Award

Pre-doctoral Category First Prize:  Yusuke Mihara

Association of salivary flow rate with dietary intakes in elderly

Pre-doctoral Category Second Prize:  Xiangqun Ju

Systemic diseases predict periodontal attachment loss progression: A longitudinal study

Post-doctoral Category First Prize:  Gerald McKenna

Caries incidence following tooth replacement for partially dentate elders

Post-doctoral Category Second Prize:  Thais Goncalves

Fixed and removable implant-supported partial dentures: Mastication and nutritional assessment

2013 Recipients:

Pre-doctoral Category; First Prize: Yuko Kurushima

“Genetic and Environmental Influnces on Oral Condition among Elder Twins”

Pre-doctoral Category; SecondPrize: Fanny Elsig

“Tooth Loss in Geriatric Patients: a Risk for Cognitive Impairment?”

Post-doctoral Category; First Prize: Xi Chen

“Dental Care Pattern in Older Adults at the End-of-Life”

Post-doctoral Category; Second Prize: Slivia Siqueira

“Oral Infections and Orofacial Pain in Alzheimer’s Disease: a Case-Control Study”

2012 Recipients:

Post-doctoral Category; First Prize: Toshinobu Hirotomi, Niigata University, Japan

“Number of teeth and 5-year mortality in an elderly population”

Post-doctoral Category; First Prize: Laura B. Kaufman, Boston University Henry M. Goldman School of Dental Medicine

“Centenarian Offspring: Oral Health Outcomes Reflect Systemic Health”

Post-doctoral Category; Second Prize: Taiji Ogawa, Osaka University, Japan

“Poor oral condition promotes harboring salivary pneumococcus in elderly”

2011 Recipients:

Pre-doctoral Category; First Prize: Gert-Jan van der Putten

Post-doctoral Category; First Prize: Noriko Hiraishi

Post-doctoral Category; Second Prize: Melissa Adiatman

2010 Recipients:

Pre-doctoral Category; First Prize: Leeann Donnelly

Pre-doctoral Category; Second Prize: Gert-Jan Van der Putten

Post-doctoral Category; First Prize: Matthew Hopcraft

Post-doctoral Category; Second Prize: Nur Mohammad Monsur Hassan

Jonathan Ship Award

Rosa Moreno-Lopez