IADR Neuroscience Group Investigator Awards by Wiley-Blackwell Journal of Oral Rehabilitation

Deadline for submission of 1) application and 2) supporting documents: January 19, 2016

About these Awards:

The Awards will be given to investigators for an outstanding basic, translational or clinical research abstract and project related to Orofacial Neuroscience submitted to the IADR General Annual Session & Exhibition. The Awards consist of two categories:

  1. IADR-Neuroscience Group Pre-doctoral Fellow Award. A pre-doctoral D.D.S., D.M.D., M.D., Ph.D. student attending a higher academic institution will be eligible to apply for this award. The winner will be awarded with $500 USD and a wooden engraved plaque.
  2. IADR-Neuroscience Group Post-doctoral Fellow Award. A post-doctoral D.D.S., D.M.D., M.D., Ph.D. student attending a higher academic institution will be eligible to apply for this award. The winner will be awarded with $1,000 USD and a wooden engraved plaque

Each category will require a minimum of three applicants for the competition to take place. Applicants will be selected by a judging panel nominated by the officers of the IADR Neuroscience scientific group.


At the time of submission of their application,

  • Pre-doctoral applicants must currently be enrolled in a pre-doctoral D.D.S., D.M.D., Ph.D. programs or other student.
  • Post-doctoral applicants must be within 5 years of graduation of a research-related degree (i.e. MSc or PhD or equivalent).

The applicants must submit their abstract in the Neuroscience Category.

  • IADR membership is required, but Neuroscience Group membership is NOT a requirement.
  • NOT eligible are 1) current officers of the IADR Neuroscience Group and 2) previous award winners in the same categories.

Application Process:

  1. Applicants must submit their abstracts to the IADR General Session & Exhibition, and adhere to the normal IADR abstract format. Please visit www.iadr.org/iags for more information.
  2. Applicants must check the box on the IADR online abstract application form to specifically apply for this Award. Please do not forget this step when you submit your abstract at https://iadr.confex.com/iadr/14iags/cfp.cgi.
  3. In addition to the abstract submission on the IADR web site, applicants must email the following 3 documents to the Dr. Somsak Mitrirattanakul ([email protected]): 
    1. A one-page applicant’s biography or CV with at least the following information: name, date of birth, undergraduate and postgraduate studies completed, principal investigator, and research publications.
    2. A one-page recommendation letter written by the principal investigator or the head of the research department at the applicant’s school or university.
    3. A document with a detailed Project (maximum 4 double-spaced pages) with the following 6 sections:

      Section 1. Abstract (same as submitted through the IADR website);

      Section 2. Introduction: literature review, rationale/hypothesis, goal;

      Section 3.  Methodology: sample collection (if present), randomization procedure (if present), test/control groups (if present), assays, statistics including sample size/power (e.g. T-test, n=5; alpha: 0.05), if sample size cannot be calculated, shortly provide reasons;

      Section 4.  Results: main findings, statistical data;

      Section 5.  Conclusions: impact/innovation on basic, translational, clinical sciences within the IADR Neuroscience scope; and

      Section 6: Bibliographic references.

Judging Rules/Principles and Criteria:

The judging panel selects a maximum of 10 candidates as finalists for the poster main competition based on the following rules / principles:

  • Clarity of presentation, scientific strength, relevance, and potential impact.
  • Data presented should be original and unpublished.
  • Selected candidates will be informed 6-8 weeks after submission deadline.
  • Applicants are required to present their findings twice: 1) during a designated Award competition session to the judging panel in the form of a poster presentation, and 2) during a regular session (General Session or Exhibit Hall) in the form of an oral or poster presentation, depending on the acceptance of the abstract as oral or poster presentation. If the abstract is accepted as a poster presentation, the same poster should be used for both presentations in the poster format recommended at www.iadr.org. In the first session with the Award judging panel, the applicants will be called in alphabetical order (by their last name stated in their abstract) to enter a conference room where the Award poster competition will take place.
  • Judges will spend 5 minutes at each poster: 2 minutes presentation by the candidates to the judges followed by 3 minutes of questions.
  • The judging process will be coordinated by the President of the Neuroscience Group (or by another Neuroscience group officer or senior IADR members if unable or if a conflict of interest exists). The judging panel may additionally be composed of the Editor-in-Chief of the Journal of Oral Rehabilitation, the Secretary/Treasurer or his/her nominee, and three additional officers or senior IADR members of the Neuroscience Group.

CRITERIA for judging and rating the finalists:

  1. Novel impact on the field of orofacial neuroscience/ temporomandibular disorders.
  2. Goal of the study and hypothesis is clearly stated.
  3. Methodology addresses the purpose or tests the hypothesis.
  4. Innovation on the study design.
  5. Statistics are appropriately used to analyze the data.
  6. Conclusions are based on the presented data.
  7. Well-organized poster presentation.
  8. Applicant is knowledgeable on the study being presented.
  9. Adherence to allocated presentation time (2 min.).


 The winners of the Award will be invited to attend the IADR Neuroscience group business meeting taking place during the IADR General Session, at which they will receive the Awards. The cash Awards will be given at a later date (usually 3-4 weeks after the meeting) and the engraved plaque and diplomas will be mailed to the award recipients after the meeting.


Abstract and supporting documents must be sent no later than the IADR abstract deadline of January 19, 2016 to Dr. Somsak Mitrirattanakul at [email protected]


List of previous 1st prize Recipients:


Michail Koutris, University of Amsterdam and Free University Amsterdam, Netherlands


Andreas Dawson, Malmö University, Sweden

Shimada Akiko, Aarhus University


Michael Meier, University of Zurich, Switzerland.


Nikolaos Christidis, Karolinska Institute


Rahena Akhter, Sydney University, Australia