AADR Irwin D. Mandel Distinguished Mentoring Award

Online Submission Site Now Open!

Extended Deadline: October 17, 2016

Click Here to Apply!

Please note: Add ‘[email protected]’ to your safe sender email list so you don’t miss any notifications. You must first ‘Sign Up’ to register an account to begin your application. If you submitted an application last year, you already have an account. If you forgot your password, click “Trouble Signing In?” on the log in page.

This award was established to provide national recognition for outstanding efforts to foster and promote research training and career development of students, trainees and junior faculty. It is intended to identify individuals at all levels of their career with an exemplary record of mentoring.

Criteria for nominees:

Nominees must be members of the AADR. Each nominee must be an experienced researcher with a record of commitment to the research training and career development of students, trainees and/or faculty.

Nomination procedure:

A nomination letter should be provided that documents the mentoring accomplishments of the candidate and why those accomplishments warrant recognition with this honor. Also, please provide:

  • A list of current and previous mentees (where appropriate list thesis and dissertation committee activity and level of involvement),
  • Their current titles and positions,
  • A listing of all abstracts, papers, book chapters and books co-authored by the candidate and mentees and;
  • An abbreviated curriculum vitae (10 pages maximum).

Review and Selection Process:

All materials will be submitted to the AADR Distinguished Scientist Award Committee and reviewed for selection.


The award consists of a monetary prize of $1,000.00 and a plaque presented at the 46th Annual Meeting & Exhibition of the AADR in San Francisco, Calif., USA, March 22-25, 2017.

All nomination materials should be submitted online by October 17, 2016.


Sheri S. Herren

Strategic Programs Manager

[email protected]

2016 Recipient

Kenneth Anusavice

University of Florida, Gainesville

2015 Recipient

William Bowen

University of Rochester, New York

2014 Recipient

Peter Milgrom

University of Washington, Seattle

2013 Recipient

Sally Marshall

University of Califorina, San Francisco

2012 Recipient

Bjorn Steffensen

University of Texas Health Science Center at San Antino

2011 Recipient

Mary MacDougall

University of Alabama at Birmingham

2010 Recipient

Irwin D. Mandel

Columbia University, New York